Better Usability through Reality

Has anyone ever filled out an age verification form accurately?  I’m well over the minimum age for anything these days, but I pick whatever year my wild mouse-clicking finger hits on when asked for my birthdate.  If they pre-filled the month and year, all the better.  This is a very common design pattern:

How course we all know that no child, no matter the age, would accurately fill out this form just to be denied access.  So I would like to propose a new paradigm for this type of situation:

Age verification the right way

I dare you to find a more effective mechanism (legalities notwithstanding) that doesn’t negatively impact the 73% of the population that is old enough.

2 comments on “Better Usability through Reality

  1. Brad Garland says:

    Makes sense to me. I do the exact same thing you do. What I don’t know if regulation requests to offer all those fields and not just the year.

  2. Fred Schmechel says:

    I always like to pick the oldest year possible just so they think there is some 103 year old watching.

Comments are closed.