Why I switched from Mozy to Carbonite

I’ve been using Mozy for my personal backup solution for nearly a year and a half. It is a great service that basically relieved me from ever worrying about my backups. It is a great service, but lately it has really gone down hill.

Starting about six months ago, I started having trouble where Mozy would just fail to backup for several days at a time. I’d get a message that it had been 3 or more days since the last successful backup. I’d have to manually start a bac kup several times before it would actually upload some files. After contacting Mozy support, it appeared that their latest auto-update had failed and my configuration and whatnot was corrupt. After a total uninstall, reinstall, and complete re-upload of all my data, things went back to normal for awhile.

Recently, I’ve been having a new problem. Whenever I would use Windows explorer, and would try to cut/copy/paste files around my hard drive, explorer.exe would crash. One day, while cleaning out files, I had at least 20 crashes in an hour. When I dug deeper I found the crash to be caused by mozy.dll. This time, a complete uninstall/reinstall didn’t fix the problem.

The straw that broke the camel’s back is when I opened the mozy status app and discovered that my backups were almost a month behind! And I wasn’t even getting notified that my backups had failed! Obviously, this is no longer worry free.

Switching to SugarSync
I happened to get my hands on an invite to SugarSync, so I decided to give that a try. It sounded like it would the answer to all my needs. Not only would it automatically backup all my files, but I could also sync between several computers (a function previously filled by FolderShare). Unfortunately, after trying it out for a few days I discovered two major issues:

  1. Files would fail to upload / sync regularly. I’d have to wait days for a file that I created on my desktop to show up on my laptop. That doesn’t bode well for the backups either.
  2. Many files would have issues with read locks. I’d constantly get error messages from files that were being updated but were still open (specifically: Quickbooks files & KeePass files). Both programs create temp lock files and keep the databases locked open while in use. SugarSync just couldn’t handle this and I was extremely worried about data corruption.

Switching to Carbonite
After about two months of these issues, I decided to try Carbonite. I switched my syncing back to Foldershare and installed the client. So far it has been terrific. I’ve got a laundry list of great pros:

  1. It has no problem handling locked open files
  2. It’s fast (uploads much faster than Mozy or SugarSync)
  3. It uploads changed files almost instantly (it doesn’t even seem to wait until night-time or anything)
  4. It has explorer integration to quickly decide what to backup (Mozy has integration for restoring, but backup/status)
  5. Best of all: It adds little dots to backed up folders in explorer. Yellow dots: files not yet backed up. Green dots: Everything a-ok.

The price is comparable to Mozy and I think will be worth every cent. Here’s to Carbonite!



Bookmark and Share

One comment on “Why I switched from Mozy to Carbonite

  1. John Burns says:

    I agree that Carbonite works well! There was one hiccup about six months ago, when it kept warning that I was over quota. After a week of this, Carbonite informed us by email that there was a bug in their recent system update and that there are NO QUOTA LIMITS. No problems with that, since then.

    BUT, it seems that Carbonite regularly crashes my open Windows Explorer windows, when it runs at night. This is quite repeatable and totally predictable.

    I am running XP.

    Any clues?

Comments are closed.